Your own mayonnaise and ketchup

My first home made mayo and ketchup (which turned out to be more like a barbecue sauce)

My first home made mayo and ketchup (which turned out to be more like a barbecue sauce)

Soon I am having an exam. And by soon I mean in couple of days. I was supposed to study for it since 2 month, but you know how lazy/busy we tend to get these days. So, yesterday I was studying, but somehow I was also looking for some distractions… And there they were – recipes of  your own mayonnaise and ketchup. I thought it is worth trying them out and I did. Result? I don’t think I will want to buy mayonnaise ever again – it is THAT easy to make one. As for ketchup – mine turned out to be more like a barbecue sauce, which is even better!

Home made mayonnaise

You need (for approximately 500g mayo in the result):

  • 2 egg yolks
  • 1 whole egg
  • 1 tablespoon French style mustard
  • grind of black pepper, or bit of white or red
  • pinch of salt
  • juice of lemon
  • 2 cups of oil (preferably not olive oil, as that will give mayo really heavy taste)
  • food processor

Put everything besides oil in your food processor and start it. After 15 seconds gradually add oil. When everything is added and well mixed, taste if you want to add some spices. If not, voila, it is ready – eat it immediately or put it in fridge for later. As this is natural mayo made by you, it will keep approximately 3 days.

Home made ketchup/barbecue sauce

You will need (for 500g of ketchup):

  • 2 cans of tomatoes (I had chopped tomatoes)
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon tomato paste
  • 2/3 cup packed dark brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup cider vinegar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • food processor

Put the tomatoes in food processor and make them in puree. Heat the oil in pan and add onions and cook them on the medium fire until they are soft. Add all the ingredients to the pan and simmer for 1 hour stirring occasionally (more towards the end). As the sauce becomes really bubbly and it started to be on my walls, I covered half of the pan with a cover.

After that hour, put everything in the food processor and pure till it is smooth. Keep it in fridge for couple of hours to let it develop its taste even more and voila, here is your ketchup/barbecue sauce recipe. It can be used up to 3 weeks (if kept in the fridge).

Hope you’ll enjoy it as much as I did!

One thought on “Your own mayonnaise and ketchup

  1. Pingback: Easy dinner: pizza with bbq sauce « Evita's stories of life

Leave a Reply

