Sri Lanka: day 3

 

people are fishing just there in the reef. whether there is anything to catch, that's anoher question..

It has been raining during the night and the sky is still a bit grey. That is what I notice when I wake up. Other fact: I have overslept. Again. It is 7am and firstly: my first medicine was supposed to be taken 1 h ago and secondly: I have missed the yoga class. Again… I decide to fall the sleep temptation (assuring myself that at least here I am not going to be late for anything) and go back to bed until 11am.

It is strange how the concept of time changes here. I don’t feel the need to be organized. Or to be in every possible class/event here. However I see the point in going to the massages on time. Today I have a massage appointment directly after lunch. There is always 1 lady that is massaging me in the beginning (and she has been doing the job for 20 years) and then the second one joins later. The second one changes every day. Today I was in pure heaven. Both of them were equally strong and massaged so good that I was barely able to stand on my feet afterwards.

Massage was followed by relaxation in the herbal garden and the herbal, both of them were nice. This time, due to the fact that I have slept and slept and slept and slept, no dozing off. And then – directly from bath – onto the acupuncture table. Don’t know why but today the needles were not that painful any more. And Dr.Joy is really making up for every possible pain that she would ever inflict on you πŸ™‚

Extra medicines

After the acupuncture, I take from my box my medicine when the doctor stops me. He quickly looks at the instructions and tells me that there is a problem. They have made a mistake. While I am waiting for the extra medicines to arrive, I ask him about my sleep issue. He checks my eyes and tells me that my hemoglobin level is low. During lunch eat more green leave salad, he says.

When the medicine arrives, he tells me that I have to drink it before going to bed and that tomorrow I will be going to the ladies room much more often. He says, it is good for cleaning the system and also for getting the toxins out. At this point I was just happy that I have not agreed to go on any excursion tomorrow.

Dr. Joy before starting her day of putting needles into human bodies πŸ™‚

Meditation

Today was the day when I managed to go for a meditation class. First class in 3 days. OK, it was in the afternoon, so I shouldn’t be THAT proud. But anyway, now to the interesting part. Meditation class was given by a Buddhist monk who explained that nowadays our mind is so restless and has so many bad thoughts, that 2/3 of the world population is sick because of that. He compared our mind to the behavior of fish or monkeys, who run or swim around with no purpose, who are stuck in this endless activity.

He said, try meditation for 14 days, 10 minutes in the morning, 10 minutes in the evening and change your life. With meditation we can control our mind and have a more powerful life, life full of energy and purpose. Oh, yes, he said that to everything that we do, we have to be aware of what we are doing and what our purpose is.. Otherwise the results are not satisfying.

According to Buddhism there are 3 things that we are responsible for.

  1. Because our mind can be compared to a machine that creates all kind of thoughts, we are responsible for creating good thoughts.
  2. Whatever we are saying, it has to be pleasant, kind and helpful
  3. whatever we do, we must undertake the responsibility of our actions.

And to be able to go this route, we need to meditate.

Here is the technique for Buddhist meditation:

  • sit with your back straight
  • put one palm into other, facing up, on the stomach level
  • close your eyes, tell your mind that you are in a pleasant place right now and just breathe in, breathe out
  • concentrate all you attention on your respiration, breath with your stomach (breathe in – stomach expands, breathe out – stomach shrinks)
  • if some thoughts keep coming to your mind (which they did with me) just acknowledge them, β€œkiss them and let them go”, then concentrate on your breathing again
  • you can do this also lying in your bed. Then put your palms on your stomach facing your stomach.

I think this is definitely something that I will try to do. If there will be those changes, that remains to be seen, of course πŸ™‚

One thought on “Sri Lanka: day 3

Leave a Reply

