Srilanka: day 4

 

I know it looks weird, but this is part of my breakfast πŸ™‚

I think that today is the day when I am finally used to the rhythm here. Woke up at 6.10 and stayed awake πŸ™‚ Of course, when you wake up this early, you have a lot of time for different things. As I was on that cleaning medicine, I didn’t dare to go to yoga class. Instead I walked around, went for an early breakfast and enjoyed the pool together with a book about Buddhism.

They say sun here is OK till 10 in the morning and after 4 in the afternoon. After being next to the pool for 1.5 hours (went off at 10.30) I can clearly see that sun has got me.. I am looking red. Funny thing is though: I was using some local sunscreen and there is no sensation of burning or anything. I am simply changing my skin colour.

After more time of doing this and that and having a lunch, I go for the daily treatment after which I see the doctor for the second consultation. She tells me that she would like to prescribe be 2 different treatments starting from day after tomorrow: Shirodhara and eye treatment.

New treatments

Shirodhara is a treatment where they pour oil on your forehead. That is all I know so far. It is good for improving every sense that you have and for your mental balance. During this treatment you can’t be in the wind, sun, talk or read much nor can you take shower. Here, in 32 degrees, that seems like a challenge…

 

Shirodhara treatment. Photo by Therme loipersdorf @Fickr

My doctor said: β€œyou should meditate during Shirodhara. All kinds of emotions are going to come up. Maybe you will cry, maybe you will laugh, it is all good.” I do understand that it was partly my goal to come here and face all the unanswered or even unasked questions, but when she puts it like that, I am scared a little bit… (how it usually is when we know we will have to be facing something unknown)

After that: eye treatment. I meat a lady who have just done it and she says that they pour ghee on your eyes. All I know now is that I would like to look up some more information on both of these :))

Ayurvedic cooking course

Today they were showing how to prepare some dishes and explaining what is the effect of different spices, fruits and vegetables. It is amazing, how simple those dishes are. Of course, I have learned here, that when you are cooking ayurvedic, you have to prepare a variety of dishes for one meal. Because, let’s be honest: how long would you like to eat rice with some spices?

ayurvedic cooking demonstration

Here is one recipe that I loved: pumpkin/butternut squash soup

You will need:

  • 400g pumpkin or butternut squash, peeled, deseeded, cut into pieces
  • 100g onions, peeled, sliced
  • 50g vegetable oil
  • 50 g atta or whole wheat flour
  • 1l vegetable stock

How to do it:

  1. sweat the pumpkin and onions in oil until cooked
  2. add the flour and cook for a few minutes (flour gives creaminess to the soup)
  3. add the vegetable stock
  4. bring to the boil, skim, season and simmer for approximately 30min (it took him less on the spot though)
  5. if desired, little lemon juice and curry leaves can be added
  6. when ready, let it rest a little bit
  7. blend the soup before serving, reheat and season, if necessary

I can testify: this was super-easy and delicious πŸ™‚

p.s. found some videos on my new treatments. wow…

Leave a Reply

