Potato pancakes: comfort food for winter evenings

for the brunch I had the pancakes with carrot/zucchini/mushroom saute.. nice... very nice!

No matter how happy I was to be in Sri Lanka I was as happy (if not even more) to return home. I am a creature of habit that enjoys the little moments of happiness and little rituals that are making my days as joyful as they are. One of these moments is having my friends over for a dinner that is filled with laughs and food that we make on the go. Yesterday we had a pancake evening with various types of pancakes. My favorite one came out to be potato pancakes, so, here is the recipe for this delicious snack looking food that is a full dinner.

For 5 people I used:

  • 9 medium bio potatoes
  • 1 yellow onion
  • 2 eggs
  • 5 tablespoons all purpose flour
  • salt
  • dried aneth
  • lemon pepper
  • balsamico vinegar
  • vegetable oil for frying

How the preparation went:

  1. I peeled and chopped the onions. Actually – it was done by the automatic chopper that I have. I have found that I am not a big fan of crying that happens every time when I have to chop yellow onions 🙂
  2. I peeled and grated potatoes, then got rid of all the liquid they had
  3. I mixed the potatoes together with onions, eggs, spices and flour until it made a smooth  paste that sticks together
  4. Then I heated up the oil in a pan on a high heat and made small pancakes on the pan, fried them from both sides for 4 -5 minutes and voila – pancakes were ready.

Some tips:

  • you can keep your pancakes warm in the oven – just put them in the oven proof dish and in the oven that is on 95 degrees C
  • serve your pancakes with smoked salmon. or sour cream. add some lemon wedges
  • i also used a bit of BBQ sauce – mmmm… was really good!!!
  • if some pancakes are left over, keep them in the fridge and use next day for a late breakfast (which would be called brunch, I suppose :))

Bon appetit!

2 thoughts on “Potato pancakes: comfort food for winter evenings

Leave a Reply

