Cupcake time

Rich cacao frosting compliments the strawberry muffin in a beautiful way

Ok, I am not a pastry person.. Neither when I was able to eat dairy products, nor now when I can’t have them. However… from time to time I have that little urge to try to bake something (and don’t ask me why… every time I see my kitchen counter during the so called “baking” process… I wonder why I even bothered starting all this..)

Tonight was one of those nights when I wanted to know what could I combine to make a dessert that I could eat myself (so, this one is safe for those who don’t digest lactose very well). What was the result of this???

Even though the cupcake itself in the end turned out… well.. I would say GREAT, but that would be too much, now wouldn’t it?? :), I convinced myself that pastry is not my passion (you know, all that mess and how precise you have to be with the measurements for the end result to be good… too much of preciseness for me :))

mess in the kitchen when attempting to bake something...

Anyhow, I could try to describe to you how much I enjoyed this little cake, but instead I thought I’d give you the recipe that I made and invite you to try it yourself!!! 🙂

For 12 cupcakes you’ll need

  • 1/4 cup soy margarine or lactose free butter
  • 1 egg
  • 2 small pots soy yogurt with no flavor (or any other yogurt with flavor)
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 tsp. baking soda
  • 8 fresh strawberries, diced

For the frosting I used these ingredients

  • 6 minced strawberries
  • 1/2 cup of  powdered sugar
  • 1/2 cup of fine sugar
  • dark cacao powder
  • dark chocolate paste
  • 2 tbsp of melted soy margarine
  • pinch of cardamon
  • pinch of cinnamon
  • 1 egg white
  • 2 teaspoons of white sugar

The end result was worth the effort!!!

Steps of making the cupcakes

  1. Mix together sugar and butter (margarine)
  2. Add the egg, flour, yogurt and dry ingredients and whisk them together (choose your preferred way – either to use the automatic kitchen whisker or the manual one)
  3. When the mixture is smooth, fold in the strawberries
  4. Divide the mixture between 12 paper lined cupcake cups and bake in a pre-heated oven (180 degrees C) for 25 minutes
  5. Meanwhile melt the butter and whisk it together with sugar(s), cacao, chocolate paste, margarine, cardamon and cinnamon
  6. Leave it to harden up before putting on the cupcakes
  7. In a separate bowl whisk together egg-white and sugar until it has formed a strong foam. Do it at the last minute before putting on the cupcake.
  8. When the cupcakes are ready (I sticked a chopstick to see if the dough doesn’t stick any more) and the frosting is hardened, put the frosting on the cupcake, then finish it off with the foam. Just to make it pretty 🙂
You can serve the cupcakes either immediately or put them in the fridge. Hope you’ll enjoy them!
Leave a Reply

