Curry for those who are in a hurry

There are so many things that change when you become a parent. One of the most impressive ones though is how much time you suddenly DON’T have… I tend to think of myself as someone who is well organized, but suddenly I found myself looking at the piles of laundry, dishwasher that hasn’t been emptied for 3 days and I couldn’t remember the last time I had cooked a meal.

Of course, one could argue that in a long run none of these things really matter, but somehow they matter to me. Now. I can’t be peaceful if all of my orderly neat life suddenly has changed into a chaotic run from room to room trying to at least clean up a little bit of the mess that comes from nowhere .

It took me a couple of months (OK, this is a lie. It took me more than just a couple of months.) to readjust all my system (yes, I have one build in my head) and make a new one. What I am doing now is either planning things more carefully or cheating time (to have some more time). Like this recipe. Ready in no time and delicious as in “give me another spoon of that” delicious. And spares you those precious minutes you cherish so much.

Oh yes, I know that real curry is not served with bread, but it was so great when absorbed with all the delicious curry.

Oh yes, I know that real curry is not served with bread, but it was so great when absorbed with all the delicious curry. And I didn’t have to make any rice (win-win)

Ingredients (for 1)

  • 10 prawns, peel and devein them (I had some frozen ones)
  • squeeze of lemon juice
  • drizzle of olive or sesame oil (if you like the taste)
  • 1 garlic clove, peeled, minced
  • 1 shallot, sliced,
  • 1cm of ginger, peeled, grated
  • 2 carrots, peeled, sliced
  • some frozen veggies (always good to have those ones in freezer for quick recipes)
  • 1 small pack of coconut milk (250ml i think it was)
  • spices: salt, pepper, pinch of sugar, soy sauce,
  • 0.3mm of chilli paste

Step-by-step:

  • drizzle the prawns with lemon juice and leave them to marinate while you are making the rest
  • heat the oil, add garlic, shallot and ginger and stir for 1-2 minutes, then add carrots and a bit of water to cook them (approx 3-5 min)
  • add the frozen veggies (I had a mix of potatoes, small carrots and beans) and stir-fry for 5 min, then add the coconut milk and spices +chili paste; stir for a minute or 2
  • add the shrimp and cook until they have turned pink (normally will take you max 5 minutes) and
  • ENJOY!

So there you go, a bowl of deliciousness in approximately 20 minutes!

One thought on “Curry for those who are in a hurry

Leave a Reply

